Archive for March, 2007

A1 Grand Prix: Jarvis takes the first win for Britain

Team Great Britain finally broke their A1 Grand Prix duck as Oliver Jarvis gave the team its long-awaited first win in the series.
Jarvis leapt into the lead from second on the grid as polesitter Alex Yoong bogged down badly in the team Malaysia car. The British team pitted at the first available opportunity while America [...]

A1 Grand Prix: Yoong converts pole to victory

It was a straightforward win for Alex Yoong and the Malaysia team in the sprint race at Mexico.
All the drama happened at the start. Team Great Britain’s Oliver Jarvis pulled into second place as the cars of teams Germany, Brazil and Mexico collided with each other. Amazingly, none of the chasing pack hit the wreckage.
It [...]

IRL: Crushing win for Wheldon

Dan Wheldon got his 2007 Indy Car title campaign off to the best possible start with an utterly dominating win at Miami-Homestead.
Only a fumbled pit stop by the Ganassi team that briefly dropped him to ninth threatened to spoil his day. But the ease with which Wheldon breezed ahead of the others and back into [...]

A1 Grand Prix: Yoong on pole in Mexico

Team Germany may be missing star driver Nico Hülkenberg but it was more or less business as usual for them with Christian Vietoris in the car instead.
The rookie in his first A1 Grand Prix outing lines up second behind veteran Alex Yoong, and only around 0.4s per lap off the Malaysian’s pace. Britain’s Oliver [...]

A1 Grand Prix: The full Peraltada

I was fascinated to see, when I tuned into today’s A1 Grand Prix of Mexico, that the series is using the mighty Peraltada corner without any kind of chicane to slow the cars on the entry.
I can’t remember a major single seater series doing this since F1 last raced there in 1992. The Champ Car [...]

This weekend: A1GP Mexico & IRL Homestead

The 2007 Indy Racing League season kicks off at the Miami Homestead oval this weekend. Reigning champion Sam Hornish Jnr seeks to defend his crown from 2005 title winner Dan Wheldon. Wheldon won this round last year but then didn’t win again until the end of the season.
Meanwhile A1 Grand Prix moves on to Mexico [...]